SpringBoot : Spring Data JPA – One To Many & Join Query | Example | Java Techie

As I have mentioned before, I beginning to do some work with JPA. As such, I am watching a few videos to help expand upon what I have read.

Spring

This video covers exactly what it says in the title. While I do not see a way around it, a lot of these videos spend a good amount of time setting up the project. This video is no exception. The meet of the subject comes in the last third where you see how to create a join query and return object.

March 2021 testingpodcast Twitter Posts

Follow testingpodcast  on Twitter

Mar 31
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Quality Sense – S3E5 Tristan Lombard – Building community and lifting others up – https://testingpodcast.com/s3e5-tristan-lombard-building-community-and-lifting-others-up/

Mar 31
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Test & Code – http://Coverage.py and testing packages – https://testingpodcast.com/coverage-py-and-testing-packages/

Mar 30
Posted to testingpodcast.com – PerfBytes – Neotys PAC Hero – Legends of Performance – https://testingpodcast.com/perfbytes-neotys-pac-hero-legends-of-performance/

Mar 30
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Test Guild – Performance – PAC Hero Festival with Henrik Rexed – https://testingpodcast.com/pac-hero-festival-with-henrik-rexed/

Mar 29
Posted to testingpodcast.com – AB Testing – Episode 135: Record, Playback, and Personality – “https://testingpodcast.com/ab-testing-episode-135-record-playback-and-personality/

Mar 29
Posted to testingpodcast.com – MoT Podcast – Carlos Meets Isabel Evans – https://testingpodcast.com/mot-podcast-carlos-meets-isabel-evans/

Mar 26
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Test Guild – Automation – Chatbot Test Automation with Christoph Boerner – https://testingpodcast.com/chatbot-test-automation-with-christoph-boerner/

Mar 25
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Testing Single File Python Applications/Scripts with pytest and coverage – https://testingpodcast.com/testing-single-file-python-applications-scripts-with-pytest-and-coverage/

Mar 25
Posted to testingpodcast.com – The QA Lead – How To Gamify Anything (with Pete Jenkins from GAMIFICATION+) – https://testingpodcast.com/how-to-gamify-anything-with-pete-jenkins-from-gamification/

Mar 24
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Quality Sense – S3 E4 – Erika Chestnut – The role of test automation in Calendly’s test strategy – https://testingpodcast.com/s3-e4-erika-chestnut-the-role-of-test-automation-in-calendlys-test-strategy/

Mar 24
Posted to testingpodcast.com – QATalks – 3 Keys to Implementing QA in the Hospitality Sector with Edmund Tan – https://testingpodcast.com/3-keys-to-implementing-qa-in-the-hospitality-sector-with-edmund-tan/

Mar 23
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Software Testing Podcast – Top Reasons Why Manual Testing Is Not Dead Yet – https://testingpodcast.com/top-reasons-why-manual-testing-is-not-dead-yet/

Mar 22
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Fuzzy Quality Episode #4: Smoke Testing Machine Learning – https://testingpodcast.com/fuzzy-quality-episode-4-smoke-testing-machine-learning/

Mar 20
Posted to testingpodcast.com – How To Test Data Science Models (with Laveena Ramchandani, Senior Test Consultant) – https://testingpodcast.com/how-to-test-data-science-models-with-laveena-ramchandani-senior-test-consultant/

Mar 19
Posted to testingpodcast.com – The Testing Show – The Testing Show: The Intersection of Testing and Quality – https://testingpodcast.com/the-testing-show-the-intersection-of-testing-and-quality/

Mar 18
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Test Guild – Performance – Performance Testing for Massive Scale with Anvesh Malhotra – https://testingpodcast.com/performance-testing-for-massive-scale-with-anvesh-malhotra/

Mar 17
Posted to testingpodcast.com – QATalks – Benefits and Procedures for DevOps Implementation in Traditional Quality Assurance Models with Chris DeGonia – https://testingpodcast.com/benefits-and-procedures-for-devops-implementation-in-traditional-quality-assurance-models-with-chris-degonia/

Mar 16
Posted to testingpodcast.com – MoT Podcast – Adam meets TestProject – https://testingpodcast.com/mot-podcast-adam-meets-testproject/

Mar 16
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Test & Code – Automation Tools for Web App and API Development and Maintenance – Michael Kennedy – https://testingpodcast.com/automation-tools-for-web-app-and-api-development-and-maintenance-michael-kennedy/

Mar 15
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Software Testing Podcast – 5 Tips for Offshore Software Testing – https://testingpodcast.com/5-tips-for-offshore-software-testing/

Mar 15
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Test Guild – Automation – AI for Automation Testing and RPA using Aito With Tommi Holmgren – https://testingpodcast.com/ai-for-automation-testing-and-rpa-using-aito-with-tommi-holmgren/

Mar 12
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Fuzzy Quality Episode #3: Experimental Behavioural Economics and AI – https://testingpodcast.com/fuzzy-quality-episode-3-experimental-behavioural-economics-and-ai/

Mar 11
Posted to testingpodcast.com – The QA Lead – NoOps & The Future Of QA Automation (with Lewis Prescott from Cancer Research UK) – https://testingpodcast.com/noops-the-future-of-qa-automation-with-lewis-prescott-from-cancer-research-uk/

Mar 10
Posted to testingpodcast.com – QATalks Introductory Episode with Pradeep Govindasamy of Cigniti – https://testingpodcast.com/qatalks-introductory-episode-with-pradeep-govindasamy-of-cigniti/

Mar 10
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Software Testing Podcast – Are you waiting to get certified and reach your career goals in the software testing industry? – https://testingpodcast.com/are-you-waiting-to-get-certified-and-reach-your-career-goals-in-the-software-testing-industry/

Mar 9
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Quality Sense – S3E3 – Stephanie Gordiola – Recruiting software testers – https://testingpodcast.com/s3e3-stephanie-gordiola-recruiting-software-testers/

Mar 9
Posted to testingpodcast.com – The Guilty Tester – Beth Marshall – Part Two – https://testingpodcast.com/the-guilty-tester-beth-marshall-part-two/

Mar 8
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Fuzzy Quality Episode #2: Deep Reinforcement Learning for Black-Box Testing of Android Apps – https://testingpodcast.com/fuzzy-quality-episode-2-deep-reinforcement-learning-for-black-box-testing-of-android-apps/

Mar 8
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Test Guild – Performance – Performance Testing Using http://Locust.io with Rahul Solanki – https://testingpodcast.com/performance-testing-using-locust-io-with-rahul-solanki/

Mar 4
Posted to testingpodcast.com – AB Testing – Episode 134: Easier, Faster, Safer – https://testingpodcast.com/ab-testing-episode-134-easier-faster-safer/

Mar 3
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Testers’ Island Discs Ep44 – Viv Richards – https://testingpodcast.com/testers-island-discs-ep44-viv-richards/

Mar 2
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Scientifically Optimize Your Processes with AI with Aviram Shotten – https://testingpodcast.com/scientifically-optimize-your-processes-with-ai-with-aviram-shotten/”

Mar 1
Posted to testingpodcast.com – QATalks with Nanda Padmaraju of Cigniti – https://testingpodcast.com/qatalks-with-nanda-padmaraju-of-cigniti/

Range: Why Generalists Triumph in a Specialized World by David Epstein

Range: Why Generalists Triumph in a Specialized World
by David Epstein

I recently finished Range: Why Generalists Triumph in a Specialized World. I initially heard about this book from Bill Gate’s Post “5 good books for a lousy year”. After reading the description, I immediately though of the “Generalizing Specialist vs Specializing Generalist” discussion from the AB Testing podcast.

Recommended.

Blackberry Curve 8320

I was cleaning out some old boxes and came across my old Blackberry Curve. Oh, I loved this phone back them. Looking at the specifications:

  • 2.5″ screen
  • 65K colors
  • 64 MB ROM
  • 2 MP camera

Those were the days…

Blackberry Curve

February 2021 mensming Twitter Posts

Follow mensming on Twitter

Feb 20
Finished reading “Resonate: Present Visual Stories that Transform Audiences” by Nancy Duarte – https://amzn.to/3blTYVi

Feb 15
Finished reading “Tribes: We Need You to Lead Us” by Seth Godin – https://amzn.to/3rVAGwj

Feb 13
Finished reading “Managing the Unmanageable: Rules, Tools, and Insights for Managing Software People and Teams” by Mickey W. Mantle and Ron Lichty – https://amzn.to/3oTbq8f

Feb 10
Finished reading “The Art of Non-Conformity: Set Your Own Rules, Live the Life You Want, and Change the World” by Chris Guillebeau – https://amzn.to/36LzSCn

Feb 6
Finished reading “The Practice: Shipping Creative Work” by Seth Godin – https://amzn.to/2LnTwg6

Feb 3
Finished reading “Little Bets: How Breakthrough Ideas Emerge from Small Discoveries” by Peter Sims – https://amzn.to/2LNiOob

February 2021 testingpodcast Twitter Posts

Follow testingpodcast  on Twitter

Feb 28
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Tips For Testers To Deliver Outstanding Customer Experience – https://testingpodcast.com/tips-for-testers-to-deliver-outstanding-customer-experience/

Feb 27
Posted to testingpodcast.com – The Testing Show: New Thinking In Management – https://testingpodcast.com/the-testing-show-new-thinking-in-management/

Feb 26
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Test & Code – For Those About to Mock – Michael Foord – https://testingpodcast.com/for-those-about-to-mock-michael-foord/

Feb 26
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Quality Sense – S3E2 – Katya Aronov – Involving devs in the quality process – https://testingpodcast.com/s3e2-katya-aronov-involving-devs-in-the-quality-process/

Feb 25
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Test Guild – Automation – Agile Engineering Maturity Model with Rudolf Groetz & David Heitzinger – https://testingpodcast.com/agile-engineering-maturity-model-with-rudolf-groetz-david-heitzinger/

Feb 25
Posted to testingpodcast.com – The QA Lead – AI-Guided Authoring In Autonomous Mobile Testing (with Royi Haddad from 21Labs) – https://testingpodcast.com/ai-guided-authoring-in-autonomous-mobile-testing-with-royi-haddad-from-21labs/

Feb 24
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Test & Code – TDD in Science – Martin Héroux – https://testingpodcast.com/tdd-in-science-martin-heroux/

Feb 24
Posted to testingpodcast.com – The Digital Quality Handbook (With Eran Kinsbruner) – https://testingpodcast.com/the-digital-quality-handbook-with-eran-kinsbruner/

Feb 23
Posted to testingpodcast.com – RBCS – Free Webinar: Exploring the Different Ways Organizations are Adopting TMMi with Martin Adcock – https://testingpodcast.com/rbcs-free-webinar-exploring-the-different-ways-organizations-are-adopting-tmmi-with-martin-adcock/

Feb 22
Posted to testingpodcast.com – MoT Podcast – Meet the EditorBosses – https://testingpodcast.com/mot-podcast-meet-the-editorbosses/

Feb 22
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Quality Sense – S3E1 – Laveena Ramchandani – Testing a data science model – https://testingpodcast.com/s3e1-laveena-ramchandani-testing-a-data-science-model/

Feb 21
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Test & Code – pytest markers – Anthony Sottile – https://testingpodcast.com/pytest-markers-anthony-sottile/

Feb 20
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Fuzzy Quality – Episode #0: Introduction – https://testingpodcast.com/fuzzy-quality-episode-0-introduction/

Feb 19
Posted to testingpodcast.com – The QA Lead – How To Keep Up With Change In The Testing World (with Joel Montvelisky from PractiTest) – https://testingpodcast.com/how-to-keep-up-with-change-in-the-testing-world-with-joel-montvelisky-from-practitest/

Feb 18
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Software Testing Podcast – One Key Idea: Pairwise Testing Using ACTS by Rex – https://testingpodcast.com/one-key-idea-pairwise-testing-using-acts-by-rex/

Feb 17
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Test Guild – Performance – Lessons From a Performance Journey – https://testingpodcast.com/lessons-from-a-performance-journey/

Feb 16
Posted to testingpodcast.com – AB Testing – Episode 133: Test Ownership and Test Automation – https://testingpodcast.com/ab-testing-episode-133-test-ownership-and-test-automation/

Feb 16
Posted to testingpodcast.com – The QA Lead – How To Hire New Software Testers For Your QA Team (with Henna Ashraf from Cashplus) – https://testingpodcast.com/how-to-hire-new-software-testers-for-your-qa-team-with-henna-ashraf-from-cashplus/

Feb 15
Posted to testingpodcast.com – QATalks with Kalyana Rao Konda of Cigniti – https://testingpodcast.com/qatalks-with-kalyana-rao-konda-of-cigniti/

Feb 15
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Test Guild – Automation – Keep Track of Your Automated Tests using Delta Reporter with Juan Negrier – https://testingpodcast.com/keep-track-of-your-automated-tests-using-delta-reporter-with-juan-negrier/

Feb 14
Posted to testingpodcast.com – RBCS – Free Webinar: Experiences in Exploratory Test Automation: Two Points of View at Two with Rex Black and Rob Sabourin – https://testingpodcast.com/rbcs-free-webinar-experiences-in-exploratory-test-automation-two-points-of-view-at-two-with-rex-black-and-rob-sabourin/

Feb 13
Posted to testingpodcast.com – MoT Podcast – Adam meets Marie Drake – https://testingpodcast.com/mot-podcast-adam-meets-marie-drake/

Feb 12
Posted to testingpodcast.com – MoT Podcast – Mark meets Lena – https://testingpodcast.com/mot-podcast-mark-meets-lena/

Feb 11
Posted to testingpodcast.com – The Guilty Tester – Beth Marshall – Part One – https://testingpodcast.com/the-guilty-tester-beth-marshall-part-one/

Feb 10
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Test & Code – MongoDB – Mark Smith – https://testingpodcast.com/mongodb-mark-smith/

Feb 9
Posted to testingpodcast.com – The Testing Show: Open Source Testing – https://testingpodcast.com/the-testing-show-open-source-testing/

Feb 8
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Software Testing Podcast – Mobile App Testing Trends for 2020 – https://testingpodcast.com/mobile-app-testing-trends-for-2020/

Feb 5
Posted to testingpodcast.com – The QA Lead – How To Use Service Virtualization (with Mike Lyles from Bridgetree) – ttps://testingpodcast.com/how-to-use-service-virtualization-with-mike-lyles-from-bridgetree/

Feb 4
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Test Guild – Automation – Next Gen Enterprise Automation Testing with Parasar Saha – https://testingpodcast.com/next-gen-enterprise-automation-testing-with-parasar-saha/

Feb 3
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Testers’ Island Discs Ep43 – Deborah Reid – https://testingpodcast.com/testers-island-discs-ep43-deborah-reid/

Feb 3
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Software Testing Podcast – Quality Is Not An Act, It Is A Habit (With Kate Falanga) – https://testingpodcast.com/quality-is-not-an-act-it-is-a-habit-with-kate-falanga/

Feb 2
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Meet The Instructor Podcast – Lee Marshall – https://testingpodcast.com/meet-the-instructor-podcast-lee-marshall/

Feb 2
Posted to testingpodcast.com – The QA Lead – How To Test Complex GraphQL Knowledge Graphs (with Mike Harris from Geckoboard) – https://testingpodcast.com/how-to-test-complex-graphql-knowledge-graphs-with-mike-harris-from-geckoboard/

Feb 1
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Meet The Instructor Podcast – Jenna Charlton – https://testingpodcast.com/meet-the-instructor-podcast-jenna-charlton/

Feb 1
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Software Testing Podcast – How To Increase ROI in Test Automation? – https://testingpodcast.com/how-to-increase-roi-in-test-automation/

Spring Data JPA from 0-100 in 60 minutes

As I have mentioned before, I am in the process of learning Spring JPA (I am already familiar with JPA), so I am watching a variety of videos.

This video showing a presentation by Jens Schauder at SpringOne Platform 2019, is a very good overview of what Spring Data JPA provides on top of JPA.

Slides can be found at https://www.slideshare.net/Pivotal/spring-data-jpa-from-0100-in-60-minutes.

Importing Fixed Width File into MySQL

Today I needed to get some data I had in a fixed width text file that I wanted to put into a table in MySQL to make it easier to manipulate. It is relatively simple to import a CSV. However, there is no native support for fixed width file.

The file looked like this (but with 88,000 rows):

 SMITH          1.006  1.006      1
 JOHNSON        0.810  1.816      2
 WILLIAMS       0.699  2.515      3
 JONES          0.621  3.136      4
 BROWN          0.621  3.757      5
 DAVIS          0.480  4.237      6
 MILLER         0.424  4.660      7
 WILSON         0.339  5.000      8
 MOORE          0.312  5.312      9
 TAYLOR         0.311  5.623     10

Well it was easy enough to transform into a CSV. Excel can easily import a fixed width file.

Excel Text Import Wizard – Step 1 of 3
Excel Text Import Wizard – Step 2 of 3

Now that I had the data in Excel, I could also clean up the all caps items using the PROPER cell formula. Then all I need to do was save the file as a CSV file.

This being done, I ran into one more small issue. I had to save the file into a directory that could be read by my local MySQL instance. Since I already had created a table matching the columns of my file, I ran the following SQL command to get the data into my table:

load data 
  infile '/dir-readable-by-mysql/data.csv' 
  into table lastnames 
  FIELDS TERMINATED BY ',' 
  ENCLOSED BY '"' 
  LINES TERMINATED BY '\n';

Importing Fixed Width File into MySQL

New podcast added to testingpodcast.com – Fuzzy Quality

I run another website, testingpodcast.com, which aggregates various podcasts related to software testing. I am happy to be adding the Fuzzy Quality podcast to the site.

Fuzzy Quality Podcast

This is a new podcast hosted by Adam Leon Smith, who also hosts many podcasts on the Ministry of Testing site. The podcast appears to have an AI focus.

As I usually do, I will start with the first episode and post about one a week until I catch up with new episodes. At the time I am posting this, there are 4 episodes.

And as always, my thanks to all of the content creators that allow me to aggregate their content.

New podcast added to testingpodcast.com – QATalks

I run another website, testingpodcast.com, which aggregates various podcasts related to software testing. I am happy to be adding the QATalks podcast to the site.

QATalks Logo

This is the corporate podcast for Cigniti. Many of the podcasts I aggregate are corporate podcasts and as such may have some self promotion. The podcast is essentially an executive interview podcast with people in the industry.

As I usually do, I will start with the first episode and post about one a week until I catch up with new episodes. At the time I am posting this, there are 19 episodes.

And as always, my thanks to all of the content creators that allow me to aggregate their content.