Michael Ensminger

Total 412 Posts

Todoist Office Hours: Timeblocking & day theming

I am still relatively new to Todoist but I have quickly adopted it into my daily workflow. As with all tools I use often, I believe it is important to become as proficient as possible in them. As such, I watched the following video with Gabriela Brasil and Chase Warrington.

There are 2 little tips that I learned. The first which I adopted immediately is the difference between “every” and “every!”. If I say:

every week starting wednesday

This task will be due on Wednesday and when I mark it as complete, a new occurrence will be scheduled with a due date of the following Wednesday. If I say:

every! week starting wednesday

This task will be on Wednesday. When I mark it as complete, a new occurrence will be scheduled one week from when I completed it. So, if I mark is as complete on Monday, the next instance will be due 1 week from Monday.

The second tip I have not used yet is this concept of an “uncompletable” task. This is a task that appears but without the circle control to mark it as complete. These tasks are created by starting the task text with an asterisk and a space. For example:

* This task cannot be marked as completed.

January 2021 testingpodcast Twitter Posts

Follow testingpodcast on Twitter

Jan 29
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Meet The Instructor Podcast – Butch Mayhew – https://testingpodcast.com/meet-the-instructor-podcast-butch-mayhew/

Jan 28
Posted to testingpodcast.com – The QA Lead – How To Become A Global Practice Head Of Quality Engineering (with Adrian O’Leary from NIIT Technologies Limited) – https://testingpodcast.com/how-to-become-a-global-practice-head-of-quality-engineering-with-adrian-oleary-from-niit-technologies-limited/

Jan 27
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Meet The Instructor Podcast – Dana Aonofreisei – https://testingpodcast.com/meet-the-instructor-podcast-dana-aonofreisei/

Jan 26
Posted to testingpodcast.com – AB Testing – Episode 132: Mindsets and Metrics – https://testingpodcast.com/ab-testing-episode-132-mindsets-and-metrics/

Jan 25
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Meet The Instructor Podcast – Ali Haydar – https://testingpodcast.com/meet-the-instructor-podcast-ali-haydar/

Jan 23
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Test Guild – Automation – Modern Web Testing Using TestCafe with Dmytro Shpakovskyi – https://testingpodcast.com/modern-web-testing-using-testcafe-with-dmytro-shpakovskyi/

Jan 22
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Meet The Instructor Podcast – Ady Stokes – https://testingpodcast.com/meet-the-instructor-podcast-ady-stokes/

Jan 21
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Software Testing Podcast – Tips To Test Your Website Effectively – https://testingpodcast.com/tips-to-test-your-website-effectively/

Jan 20
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Meet The Instructor Podcast – Simon Berner – https://testingpodcast.com/meet-the-instructor-podcast-simon-berner/

Jan 20
Posted to testingpodcast.com – The Testing Show: Your Changing Career – https://testingpodcast.com/the-testing-show-your-changing-career/

Jan 19
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Meet The Instructor Podcast – Beren Van Daele – https://testingpodcast.com/meet-the-instructor-podcast-beren-van-daele/

Jan 19
Posted to testingpodcast.com – The Testing Show: Chaos Engineering – https://testingpodcast.com/the-testing-show-chaos-engineering/

Jan 18
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Meet The Instructor Podcast – Louise Gibbs – https://testingpodcast.com/meet-the-instructor-podcast-louise-gibbs/

Jan 18
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Test Guild – Automation – Automation Testing Trends for 2021 – https://testingpodcast.com/automation-testing-trends-for-2021/

Jan 17
Posted to testingpodcast.com – MoT Podcast – Carlos meets Ash Winter – https://testingpodcast.com/mot-podcast-carlos-meets-ash-winter/

Jan 16
Posted to testingpodcast.com – PerfBytes Español – Final de la segunda temporada – https://testingpodcast.com/perfbytes-espanol-final-de-la-segunda-temporada/

Jan 15
Posted to testingpodcast.com – The QA Lead – Choosing The Right Quality Approaches & Boosting Engineering Efficiency (with Bernardo Guerreiro from Auth0) – “https://testingpodcast.com/choosing-the-right-quality-approaches-boosting-engineering-efficiency-with-bernardo-guerreiro-from-auth0/

Jan 14
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Test & Code – Visual Testing – Angie Jones – https://testingpodcast.com/visual-testing-angie-jones/

Jan 13
Posted to testingpodcast.com – AB Testing – Episode 131: The 2020 Year End Extravaganza – https://testingpodcast.com/ab-testing-episode-131-the-2020-year-end-extravaganza/

Jan 12
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Software Testing Podcast – Different ways to improve efficiency and productivity with Test Automation – https://testingpodcast.com/different-ways-to-improve-efficiency-and-productivity-with-test-automation/

Jan 11
Posted to testingpodcast.com – The QA Lead – How To Measure Time To Quality: T2Q (with Niall Lynch from Spark of Guidance) – https://testingpodcast.com/how-to-measure-time-to-quality-t2q-with-niall-lynch-from-spark-of-guidance/

Jan 8
Posted to testingpodcast.com – The Guilty Tester – Christmas 2020 – Dear Santa – https://testingpodcast.com/the-guilty-tester-christmas-2020-dear-santa/

Jan 6
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Software Testing Podcast – Best Practices for Security Testing of Software – https://testingpodcast.com/best-practices-for-security-testing-of-software/

Jan 5
Posted to testingpodcast.com – PerfBytes Español – Flood io – https://testingpodcast.com/perfbytes-espanol-flood-io/

Jan 4
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Test & Code – Testing in Scientific Research and Academia – Martin Héroux – https://testingpodcast.com/testing-in-scientific-research-and-academia-martin-heroux/

Jan 1
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Testers’ Island Discs Ep42 – Drew Pontikis – https://testingpodcast.com/testers-island-discs-ep42-drew-pontikis/

testingpodcast.com – 2300 posts and counting

I just posted to testingpodcast.com our 2300 post. Testingpodcast.com is a podcast aggregation site focused on software testing. I took over the site back in 2011. For the last 5 years, I have been posting almost every business day since. If I have too many posts queued up, I will sometimes post on the weekend or more than once a day.

Chalk board 5 strike symbol

I am grateful for all of the content creators who allow me to include their podcasts on the site.

December 2020 testingpodcast Twitter Posts

Follow testingpodcast  on Twitter

Dec 24, 2020
Posted to testingpodcast.com – MoT Podcast – Mike meets David Burns – https://testingpodcast.com/mot-podcast-mike-meets-david-burns/

Dec 23, 2020
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Software Testing Podcast – Big Data Testing To Eliminate Data Complexities – https://testingpodcast.com/big-data-testing-to-eliminate-data-complexities/

Dec 22, 2020
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Quality Sense – S2E8 – Anand Bagmar – What you should know about visual testing – https://testingpodcast.com/s2e8-anand-bagmar-what-you-should-know-about-visual-testing/

Dec 21, 2020
Posted to testingpodcast.com – The QA Lead – How Inclusive Automation Supports Testers (with Brendan Connolly from Procore Technologies) – https://testingpodcast.com/how-inclusive-automation-supports-testers-with-brendan-connolly-from-procore-technologies/

Dec 21, 2020
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Test Guild – Performance – The Economics of Performance Engineering with Lloyd Watts – https://testingpodcast.com/the-economics-of-performance-engineering-with-lloyd-watts/

Dec 18, 2020
Posted to testingpodcast.com – MoT Podcast – Mark Meets Valentin Guerlesquin – https://testingpodcast.com/mot-podcast-mark-meets-valentin-guerlesquin/

Dec 17, 2020
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Test Guild – Automation – Why You Need to do API Performance Testing with Patrick Poulin – https://testingpodcast.com/why-you-need-to-do-api-performance-testing-with-patrick-poulin/

Dec 16, 2020
Posted to http://testingpdocast.com – Quality Sense – S2E7 – Andy Grabner – Introduction to Keptn for performance engineering – https://testingpodcast.com/s2e7-andy-grabner-introduction-to-keptn-for-performance-engineering/

Dec 15, 2020
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Test & Code – Test Automation: Shifting Testing Throughout the Software Lifecycle – Nalin Parbhu – https://testingpodcast.com/test-automation-shifting-testing-throughout-the-software-lifecycle-nalin-parbhu/

Dec 14, 2020
Posted to testingpodcast.com – The Testing Show: Infrastructure As Code – https://testingpodcast.com/the-testing-show-infrastructure-as-code/

Dec 13, 2020
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Testers’ Island Discs Ep41 – Angela Riggs – https://testingpodcast.com/testers-island-discs-ep41-angela-riggs/

Dec 12, 2020
Posted to testingpodcast.com – PerfBytes Español – Entrevista Sofia Palamarchuk – https://testingpodcast.com/perfbytes-espanol-entrevista-sofia-palamarchuk/

Dec 11, 2020
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Test Guild – Performance – Performance Engineering for Beginners with Scott Moore – https://testingpodcast.com/performance-engineering-for-beginners-with-scott-moore/

Dec 10, 2020
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Software Testing Podcast – Key Performance Metrics for Effective Performance Testing – https://testingpodcast.com/key-performance-metrics-for-effective-performance-testing/

Dec 10, 2020
Posted to testingpodcast.com – The Guilty Tester – 5 Best and 5 Worst things about Software Testing – https://testingpodcast.com/the-guilty-tester-5-best-and-5-worst-things-about-software-testing/

Dec 9, 2020
Posted to testingpodcast.com – MoT Podcast – Mike Meets Sérgio Freire – https://testingpodcast.com/mot-podcast-mike-meets-sergio-freire/

Dec 9, 2020
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Test Guild – Automation – Accelerate Test Coverage Using TestRigor with Paul Grossman & Artem Golubev – https://testingpodcast.com/accelerate-test-coverage-using-testrigor-with-paul-grossman-artem-golubev/

Dec 8, 2020
Posted to testingpodcast.com – MoT Podcast – Test.bash(‘Online’); debrief with Gwen and Mark – https://testingpodcast.com/mot-podcast-test-bashonline-debrief-with-gwen-and-mark/

Dec 8, 2020
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Quality Sense – S2E6 – Ian Goddard – Testing virtual reality software – https://testingpodcast.com/s2e6-ian-goddard-testing-virtual-reality-software/

Dec 7, 2020
Posted to testingpodcast.com – PerfBytes – Black Friday, hour 5 – https://testingpodcast.com/perfbytes-black-friday-hour-5/

Dec 7, 2020
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Test Guild – Performance – Automated Quality Gates in Performance Testing with Roman Ferstl – https://testingpodcast.com/automated-quality-gates-in-performance-testing-with-roman-ferstl/

Dec 6, 2020
Posted to testingpodcast.com – PerfBytes – PerfBytes – Black Friday 2020, Hour five – https://testingpodcast.com/perfbytes-black-friday-2020-hour-five/

Dec 5, 2020
Posted to testingpodcast.com – PerfBytes – Black Friday 2020, Hour 4 – https://testingpodcast.com/perfbytes-black-friday-2020-hour-4/

Dec 4, 2020
Posted to testingpodcast.com – PerfBytes – Black Friday 2020, Hour 3 – https://testingpodcast.com/perfbytes-black-friday-2020-hour-3/

Dec 4, 2020
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Quality Sense – S2E5: Bas Dijkstra – False positives and negatives in test automation – https://testingpodcast.com/s2e5-bas-dijkstra-false-positives-and-negatives-in-test-automation/

Dec 3, 2020
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Reliable & Fast Synthetic E2E Monitoring with Tim Nolet & Hannes Lenke – https://testingpodcast.com/reliable-fast-synthetic-e2e-monitoring-with-tim-nolet-hannes-lenke/

Dec 2, 2020
Posted to testingpodcast.com – PerfBytes – Black Friday 2020, Hour 2 – https://testingpodcast.com/perfbytes-black-friday-2020-hour-2/

Dec 2, 2020
Posted to testingpodcast.com – The Testing Show: External vs. Internal Software Testing – https://testingpodcast.com/the-testing-show-external-vs-internal-software-testing/

Dec 1, 2020
Posted to testingpodcast.com – Test & Code – Mutation Testing in Python with mutmut – Anders Hovmöller – https://testingpodcast.com/mutation-testing-in-python-with-mutmut-anders-hovmoller/

AppleScript to Add Task to Todoist

Todoist

In general, using templates or recurring tasks fulfill most use cases for adding routine tasks to Todoist. Occasionally, there are a set of tasks which could use some more complex logic around the text of the task, calculating due dates, etc. On the Mac, I usually turn to AppleScript.

AppleScript

So, we start with a very basic Apple Script function that can be called from within your main script.

on addItem(args)
	
   set defaultArgs to {priority:1, schedule:""}
	
   set args to args & defaultArgs
	
   set content to content of args
	
   set labels to labels of args
	
   set priority to priority of args
	
   set schedule to schedule of args
	
	

   set token to "GET FROM YOUR ACCOUNT"
	
   set myUUID to do shell script "uuidgen"
	
   set tempUUID to do shell script "uuidgen"
	

   set due to "{\"string\":\"" & schedule & "\"}"
   set tdCommand to "[{\"type\": \"item_add\", 
     \"uuid\": \"" & myUUID & "\", 
     \"temp_id\":\"" & tempUUID & "\", 
     \"args\": {
         \"content\": \"" & content & "\", 
         \"due\":" & due & ", 
         \"priority\":" & priority & ", 
         \"labels\":" & labels & "}}]"
	

   set curlCmd to "curl    https://api.todoist.com/sync/v8/sync -d token=" & token & " -d commands='" & tdCommand & "'"
	
	
   do shell script curlCmd

end addItem

This function depends on 2 external programs:

  • curl
  • uuiden

Once we have this function, it can then be used inside of a script, for example:

display dialog "Please enter some text to prefix the task :" 
set entryPrefix to text returned of result

set labelIds to "[1111111111, 1111111112]"

addItem({content:"(" & entryPrefix & ") " & "Task text", priority:2, labels:labelIds})